Overclocking q6600 to 3.0ghz

texazon

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2008
My pieces should arrive anytime now, and I am new to overclocking, but my question is.

Is overclocking a q6600 to 3.0 ghz with a XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler a very safe overclock?

Thanks

Slobogob

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2006

Nope.
The stresstest consisted of having a horde of hardcore gamers abuse the system for a whole week (most of the time without sleep - at least that's what i have been told). I did run a short test of Orthos and Prime and it worked fine at the given VID value.

Craxbax

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2007
No need to change the vcore or any of the other voltages. Leave them on auto for now. Lock the PCI-e at 100 or 101 though. Changing the FSB to 333 is almost a free OC on a Q6600.

aznguy0028

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2007

the point of Prime95 is not to test it for a short time. that's the whole point of Primte95, thats why its called a torture test as it stresses all the core at 100%. most computer with tolerable OC-ing changes in bios would POST and boot up to windows, but how long it'll remain stable is another issue, hence why people that OC run prime95 for at least 8 hours, if not more...some even going to 24 hours.

when you OC- it is imperative that you check your system for stability after OC-ing if you ensure you can use your system on a daily basis, you don't want BSODs left and right.

the 3.0ghz mark on the Q6600 is not hard to achieve and can be done with minimal effort but it also depends on the VID of the chip, not all chips are made equally. i've OC-ed my friends to 3.0ghz also and i left everything at stock voltages because his VID was low, it could be different for other chips.

gillagad

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2008