Sign in with
Your question

I Hate Dell, need advice

Last response: in Systems
January 11, 2008 3:42:23 PM

Ok, here's the situation: I'm a college student who goes to school in N.C. but lives in T.N. on breaks. For Christmas this year, I was building a new system for myself and another for my friend. I went through all the research and started ordering parts. I was going to use 8800 GT's for both systems, but I was going to get an eVGA card so I could step up later. One night (In late November) as I was trying to track down a place that had 8800 gt's in stock and for a reasonable price, I found one at Dell for $250 after tax and shipping. I immediately ordered it for my friend and had it shipped to my school in N.C.

Dell ended up delaying the order until I realized that I would be back in T.N. before it arrived ( I left on the 14th, to give you an idea of how amazing Dell's promptness is) so I called them and told them to ship it to my home address instead. They changed it and said everything had been updated. I wanted to make absolutely sure that it was correct, so I called back the next day, "Your order will be shipped to Tennessee" they assured me.

So, of course, I track the item and watch as it gets delivered to N.C. two days after I leave. Annoyed (but not furious yet) I called them and talked to them, saying I needed to have it rerouted to my home. They reply by doing me the favor of just sending me a new card and not making me wait as they retrieve the old one! Anyone that followed these cards in the month after their release, and even now, knows that there were no spare 8800gt's just lying around. I tried to explain this but the tech support guy could not have cared less and just inquired if there was anything else he could help me with today. No. Thank you.