Installing HSF/Removal and Thermal Paste? Clean & Apply each time?

nforce256

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2007
I ordered an e8400 with the gigabye p35-ds3l. I know the new shipments of the board support the e8400 out of the box, but the other bios versions require a bios update. Now here is my question. If I install the e8400 processor with the Heatsink/fan and it does not boot up (hopefully it will! :bounce:) I have an older Celeron Dprocessor that is socket 775 so it should work with this board. So do I just take off the heatsink/fan, swap the processors, and boot up? Specifically, when the hsf is removed from the CPU, do I need to reapply the thermal paste or not? This is my first build, and this stuff kinda scares me so I'm almost thinking about getting an e6750 instead of the e8400 because that processor is supported out of the box from what i understand.

also, does the retail intel cpu come with the thermal paste already applied? And is it applied just on the heatsink fan, cpu, or both? Thanks!

nforce256

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2007
what would you guys honestly recommend? Should I just go with an e6750 or the e8400 so I dont have to worry about using a different processor and mess around with having to apply thermal grease????
todays my birthday so i'm getting ready to place my order with my birthday money once i get some advice on this. any help is appreciated!!

kentuckyranger

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2008
It's a very good idea to clean the old paste off and re-apply new but it won't be the end of the World if you don't. Just make sure you don't get dirt on the Paste when transfering.
Applying Paste isn't hard at all. It sounds like you've never done this before and are smart in being careful about delving into something you're not sure of.