A VERY STRANGE BEHAVIOUR (Wireless vs Ethernet)

pcangeldust

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2008
Hi all :hello: , This is my first post on tomshardware. I HOPE THIS IS THE CORRECT CATEGORY :sol:

TODAY, i discovered something weird about my wireless connection :pt1cable:

I have a megashares link card which i use to download, its like rapidshare and megaupload etc.
As a download manager i use flashget.

I didn't have any problems with my setup for a few days until one day the max number of stream/split files i could open with Flashget was 6. and so i could not max out my download speed(approx 800KB/s) instead i was getting less than 600KB/s, average 580KB/s.

-------------------------------------
So i tested on my other PC, which is connected by Ethernet, on that PC i was getting my max speed but still only 6 steams/split files.
So i messed around with my wireless to check if it was to do with range or signal strength but no success. :fou: .
-------
i did all sorts of tests, moved the router, took out the phone line extension cable, i even enable wireless on the Ethernet PC to see if it was the OS, by the way the Ethernet PC is right next to the router, so it couldn't have been signal issues.

I would understand u would conclude that the wireless adapter is the issue, HOWEVER i did some general speedtest from two sources, and my results showed not much variation between them.

Ethernet PC: 1. 6280kbps in kilobits
2. 6313kbps

3. 6.87mbps in megabits
4. 6.69mbps

Wireless PC: 1. 6331kbps
2. 6343kbps

3. 6.37mbps
4. 6.35mbps

The results are very close.. so i investigated the flashget, I only downloaded with one stream/split file -------------------------------- the Ethernet PC speed was 256KB/s whereas the wireless PC speed was 94-101KB/s.

ISSUE: WHY ARE THEY DIFFERENT!!

pcangeldust

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2008