HELP! my computer is getting slower

daricc1

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2008
So I built my dream system Intel 6850, nvidia 8800 gt, 2G Ram, gigabye quad 6 mobo and all was well. Right out of the box I got 3D mark scores of above 14,000 and ran Crysis at very high settings no problem. 6 weeks later I am lucky to score above 5000 on 3Dmark and I don't know why. I have updated drivers, tried increasing GPU clock with gigabyte utility and used ntune. Still no dice. I am a novice when it comes to performance enhancemanet and overclocking so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

rallyimprezive

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2007
Usually, a gradual decrease in performance is directly related to a cluttered OS.

In most cases, the "clutter" is spyware/malware/adware, as well as invalid registry entries. It is also caused by a fragmented hard drive.

While you could spend many afternoons trying to clean and optimize the OS, its often more effective to just start with a clean slate...then be more careful about where you download from. :)

bobbknight

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2006
Something has drastically slowed your system, this you already know.
Now the question is what could it be? Now is the time to run a good anti-virus and look for spyware, rootkits and Trojans.
The big question is what have you done with our system since it's first build to cause this slow down to happen?
I run ad-aware, spybot and windows defender also I use sysinternals rootkit revealer along with sophos anti rookkit software.
Last a good fire wall to see what is going out to the internet from your system.
Parn and warze sites drop a lot of crap onto a system, use Firefox as a browser to cut down on that crap.
A full format and reinstall may be the only way to get your speed back.

dragonsprayer

Splendid
Jan 3, 2007
your choked up with TIF's and other mal ware

down load ccleaner - start there
go to run>msconfig and turn off the junk but ms and anti spy or virus