Help with overclocking my GPU

Slyther

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2008
Hi peoples, need some help with overclocking my new rig. Im a newbie to ocing and have been interested in doing a 'safe' overclock to try and boost my overall fps.

motherboard: gigabyte EP45-DS3
RAM: DDR2 2x 2gb 800mhz
CPU: intel core 2 duo e8400
GPU: Galaxy 8800gt 512mb

Display Drivers: version 6.14.0011.7519

GPU clock speeds:
core 600mhz
shader 1500mhz
memory 1000mhz

I have been following the post [3D Chips] Guide to Overclocking Video Cards (56K WARNING)
but have hit a wall....
When i go to test for artifacts after increasing the core and shader clocks by 15mhz, then computer freezes, displays a blue screen and starts dumping physical memory it says there was a error with nv4_disp.dll

Could anyone help me resolve this issue?
I am really keen on trying to get my gpu clocks increased by 50Mhz, or more if i can keep it stable.
But atm it cant even keep stable at an increase of 15Mhz..... :(

jumpman

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2007
Well first you should check your GPU temp. You can do this through a program such as RivaTuner. If the chip is hitting temps around 70C or higher then that could be causing the instability. If this is the case, you can try increasing the fan speed on your video card to 100%, which can also be done through RivaTuner(Customize under target adapter; Low-Level System Settings).

aznguy0028

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2007
OC-ing your GPU won't really increase your FPS by much. the thing that increases FPS when you have a good vid. card is a high clocked CPU. in your case, the E8400 should do wonders for your FPS, i would rather focus on that then OCing the vid. card.

jumpman

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2007