CasTell

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2007
Hey guys.

Im fairly new to overclocking but ive read alot about it and i understand the terms and how things work. Ive now started to overclock my own computer. When i bought it two years ago i intented to overclock it the day i though it would be needed and the day has come.

To share with you my goals : to reach 3.6 ghz stable and running my CPU and RAM 1:1, som 400 FSB and ram at 400. but im just gonna take it slowly :D no need to rush.

My PC Specs :

ASUS P5w DH deluxe running 2.7 bios (currently newest)
E6600 2.4 Ghz
Corsair XMS2 PC-6400 twim matched 2*1 GB 5-5-5-18 800 mhz
ATI radeon X1900XTX
Zalman 9500 LED
Chill innovation 500W PSU.

so i managed to overclock to 3.0 and i believe im fairly stable there.

BIOS settings :

333 FSB
667 mhz ram (1:1)
1.4v vCore
Ram at 1.9 (specced)
MHC lowest possible 1.50
ICH lowest possible 1.05
vFSB lowest possible 1.20

so i think that my vCore is pretty high from what i have read from other people with the same board. Ive tried to lower it but it simply wont run prime95 over more than 30 mins to 2 hours.

my idle tems are 27, load under prime95 is 42 (tcase)
idle 40 , load under prime95 is high 50's (57-60) (tjunktion)

som firstly my questions is, why does my vCore have to be so high compared to others? is that the difference on the chip. Possibly a dud? though it doesnt get ultra hot i guess :D

my other question is why is the tcase and tjunktion som much differnt? i read in the tempeture guide that the delta (difference) normally is around 5c. mine is more like 15-20 :O!!

anyways. Im running prime95 overnight tonight and making sure that this is totally stable.