15K fast HDD with the A8NSLI deluxe mobo?

omaha

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2007
Hi, is it possible to use a seagate cheetah 15k drive or a maxtor 15k or a fujitsu 15k drive on the A8n SLI deluxe mobo?

If not, is there an adaptor, or is my mobo just too old?

I need a decent 300gig hdd, and wanted something a bit faster than the standard seagate 3500320as

Sorry if this is an easy question, i am a noob!

ethel

Distinguished
May 20, 2006
If you want to run one drive only you could buy an old PCI Adaptec SCSI U160 card off of ebay - there's loads of them about and they cost little. I run Windows off of a Fujitsu 15K drive using this setup and it's extremely fast.

However, it is a little more hassle than using SATA - you'll need to get a SCSI cable and perhaps an adaptor, depending in which adaptor your drive has. Not to mention that 15K drives are expensive (unless you buy them off of ebay).

Are you sure you need the extra speed?

If you're NOT loading huge files from the harddrive, it is USELESS getting a fast drive. A few seconds is NOT going to be noticed. Even then, it's better to use raid drives. Few use the fast AND raided drives, but's that's an extreme and only noticed by using extremely large files....alot.

omaha

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2007
My problem is i play a lot of poker,and have HUGE postgres sql databases. WHen they get vacuumed, clustered and analysed, it takes an hour or two. Also, my databases are only a million or two hands atm, but will get much bigger, very soon.

I am tossing up between getting three raptors and raid0 them, but then saw the speeds of the cheetahs and the 15k drives on the charts here.

So, yep, i do need a speed increase beyond what the average gamer uses, and am interested in my options.

ethel

Distinguished
May 20, 2006

I disagree.