Sign in with
Your question

Jack of all trades - help.

Last response: in Systems
January 18, 2008 9:53:23 PM

Aloha community,

My stipend has finally come through after a distressful drought period in my applications and I thought I'd award myself with a new Desktop system.

Since I'm a thrifty student, the operation costs - i.e. the power consumption - play an important role. So not surprisingly I'm inclined to use an AMD X2 BE-2400 due to it's low TDP. However, after some reading I'm not quite sure, if the newest Intel generation of dual cores won't be similary frugal in terms of power demand.

What do you guys think? Is it worth waiting and investing in an E5xxx? I don't need top gear equipment, as the maximum I'd like to play is probably TES IV - Oblivion.

I only have vague ideas about the rest:

Mainboard: I guess an AMD790 chip if I'm going for the AMD and a P35 board for the Intel processor? I don't think I'll need Raid, but I suppose a heatpipe with covers north- and southbridge would be advantageous, no?
CPU-cooler: Not a clue. I probably won't overclock though. Doesn't really go inline with my 'low-power' PC idea.
Graphic-card: Radeon HD3850 - apparently able to idle as well.
RAM: DDR2 800MHz, 2GB should be alright?
HDD: Samsung Spinpoint series? SATA
DVD-RW: No clue.
Sound: onboard will suffice.
Case: Mini-Tower?

Comments on any of my points highly appreciated!

Cheers,
Mike

More about : jack trades

January 18, 2008 10:02:28 PM

I forgot something (I couldn't edit the initial post):

Budget is ~£400-500, but I haven't come across a good online store for the UK yet.

PSU: I've seen that 'be quiet' devices are very efficient. The price/value ration seems to be a bit unreasonable. Are there good alternatives? I suppose that one could go down to 300W with the according PC components.
January 18, 2008 11:33:12 PM

PSU: Corsair 550VX or anything listed in the top 3 tires here:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10...