Dell XPS 600 Upgrade

bryan240g

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2008
Hello all, this is my first forum post and I am new to TH. Let me start off by saying that I am a noob at all this computer building stuff. I own a DELL XPS 600, had it about 2 years, and I love gaming and multimedia, I play alot of FPS games(COD 4), and I would like to make some upgrades. I know alot of you out there are saying, " YOUR UPGRADING A DELL!!!!!!", yeah I am. I am not ready to make the leap into building my first PC yet,but I feel I am comfortable enough with upgrading hardware, and software. So I am wondering you all could share your thoughts with me on what I can do tp upgrade my PC. I will list my PC stats below. Please let me know if you see something I am planning on getting that isn't going to work, or if you have a better idea.

Dell XPS 600
Nvidia C19 mobo
Pentium d 840 (3.2)
4gb ddr2 5300 (667mhz)
2x 80gb WD raptors Raid 0
Seagate 750gb SATA
Dual geforce 7800GTX SLI
Soundblaster X-FI

Your suggestions are much appreciated. Personally I would like to upgrade the processor to one that is more efficient like the (E6850) maybe, and eventually faster RAM, and the video cards. Let me know guys. Thanks.

scorch

Distinguished
Jun 2, 2004
Dell XPS 600
Nvidia C19 mobo
Pentium d 840 (3.2)
4gb ddr2 5300 (667mhz)
2x 80gb WD raptors Raid 0
Seagate 750gb SATA
Dual geforce 7800GTX SLI
Soundblaster X-FI

Is this the specs on the computer as it is now???? If so I would keep it where its at now because as mentioned above you may not be able to upgrade the processor.

bryan240g

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2008