extremepilot

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2006
I just installed easytune 5 for my EX38 board and it's so ugly - looks like it utlizies 256colors or something. Did I get the wrong version?

dobsfactor

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2009
I have EasyTune 6. All my parts are OC'able and I have an aftermarket cooler. So, if not EasyTune for OC'ing, how does one OC an i7 920 with the UD4P MOBO? I'm a complete noob to OC'ing; never done it before.

stecman

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2009
In the bios, there is a section called "advanced system settings" or something like that. What you are looking for is "CPU Multiplier". There will be an option to enable user set multiplier. Set this option to enable and change the CPU multiplier; keeping all other possible settings at auto (that way your board figures all the ratios out). It will tell you what the clockspeed will be with your multiplier. Save and exit BIOS (F10, Yes) to enable your settings. If the computer does not boot, or resets soon after boot, you probably pushed it too hard :p

That board will allow you to push the CPU multiplier up a huge amount (a similar board for 775 socket allowed me to set a multiplier resulting in 15GHz from a 2.93Ghz dual core!) so safest to change in small amounts (0.1Ghz steps and 0.05GHz steps if you are nearing the tipping point of crashing). I am running a 775 2.66GHz dual core at 3.2GHz with no heat issues on the standard heatsink, but I am unsure of the i7's heat generation.
Have fun,
Stecman.

dobsfactor

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2009
Thanks for all the info gentlemen. Im definitely not looking for crazy amounts of boosting. The CPU is about 2.67 Ghz. I'd like to get into perhaps 3 Gz flat.

bilbat

Splendid
Give me a day or two, and I can work up a 'canned' OC for you - have been defunct for a couple days here, as have been re-assembling the engine in my dad's truck - had it down to the heads & block; also, need some time for a couple win7 re-installs...

Bill

dobsfactor

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2009