Best Motherbiard for Q6600

redmanc

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2006
OK, i'm after a good overclocking MB for the Q6600.

I've narrowed my search down to 3 as i want to keep around the £100 mark.

Gigabyte EP35-DS4
Asus P5KE/Wifi
Gigabyte EP35 DS3P

Any comments ?

curnel_D

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2007
As far as overclocking goes, I've had the best luck with gigabyte. I just picked up another p35 board to overclock one of the 1.6 pentuim dualcores (Now at 3.8 on air).

And that one was only $70usd on the egg.

Goodluck

happy_fanboy

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2006
I've not used any of them, but I will say this, If you ever want to run Vista at all go with the Gigabyte EP35 DS3P since it is the only one on your list that is Vista Certified. Great reviews too.

asymetriccircle

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2008
i have the p5k-e wifi board running the q6600 G0 and im running vista and all is well. i am still experimenting with overclocking, as im a bit of a newb, but i have done 3Ghz 333x9 on stock voltage completely stable. holding out for more until i learn a little more about working with the voltage. i also have a zalman 9500, i cant say how far youll get on stock cooling, 2.8ghz would probably be reasonable.

rockbyter

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2008
I have the same as asymetriccircle, p5k-e at 8x400 with almost everything on auto and memory manually set to 800. just screams. Behaves nicely with x1950 pro 512 mb in crossfire running folding@home. Corsair xms2 800 2x2Gb kit.

Heat was an issue, so i opted to sufficiently cool it with the swiftech 220 compact. This is overkill at the moment, prime 95 at 3.2 GHz doesnt get the cpu over 52C, but i have room to add a water block to my video card and then some. I will say that using a coolermaster gemini II was great and quiet at stock speed, however overclocking past 3 GHz proved to be too much to keep it reasonably under 65C (my personal definition of too hot)