Need help with stability

SunMaze

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2008
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting, and also my first time building a new system. My spec is as follow:
mobo: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 Rev. 2.0
CPU: Intel Q6600
PSU: PC power & cooling silencer 610W (i know it's overkill but it was on sale)
RAM: Patriot 4GB kit (2X2GB) DDR2 PC6400
GPU: Evga 8800GT
HDD: WD Raptor 150GB, Seagate Barracuda 7200 320GB
DVD: Asus 20X

I'll start from the beginning. At first the mobo gave me a long beep which indicate the GPU wasn't installed properly, and I had no screen. After discussing with a friend of mine I solved the problem with plugging the GPU power supply from the PSU.

Now I'm in windows, but Nvidia sentinel gave me a warning that says the GPU isn't getting enough power and that it's performance is scaling down to compensate that. After some discussion with the Evga tech support, trying uninstalling the driver in safe mode and reinstall, he concluded that it was a defective card so I got an replacement.

The replacement had the exact same problem. I then reinstalled windows which seems to solve the Nvidia sentinel from coming out, however, the card's performance is more or less the same as when it was getting scaled down. Normal window use was fine, but games were unplayable. The card would function normally about 1/5 to 1/10 of the reboot, so I was just rebooting over and over until I get a working system.

At this point I also have a little HDD problem. I use the raptor as my system drive, and it would slow down from times to times, to a 0.5fps kind of speed, my mouse would stop mid air, goes to the next place 1 sec later, then stop there and again 1 sec or so later.