Guru review request - Near Final Build sheet

wayninja

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2008
Looking for a computer to do everything well from web hosting and Photo editing to movie encoding and gaming. Max budget is 2200 USD, but I'm not seeing performance gains that really warrant spending much more than 1500 to have a decent system for the next 2 or so years.

Here's what I'm looking at so far, I'm definitely open to suggestions. I'm no computer novice but haven't really done too much with overclocking. I hear that these types of setups beg for it though.

■ Processor: Intel Q6600 quad

■ CPU Fan: ZALMAN CNPS9700
Any experience with this fan and the mobo below appreciated.

■ Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Cheap so I could easily go to a SLI capable board if I wanted, depending on how GPU's and PCIe 2.0 shake out this year.

■ Memory: GeIL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4-4-4-12)

■ Video: XFX PVT88PYDE4 GeForce 8800GT Extreme 512MB 256-bit GDDR3
Don't really know if the extra 40mhz clock is worth 30 bucks...

■ PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX
Seems highly reccomended and not too steep

■ Hard drives: 2x Western Digital Caviar SE WD3200AAJS in RAID 1 (hosting the family web)

■ DVD Burner: Asus 20x - Solid, 40 bucks, nuff said

■ OS: Vista Home Premium (system builders)
Haven't had personal experience with vista yet and very few of my business customers use it so any advice is appreciated.

■ Case: Largely undecided... Looking at offerings from Antec and Thermaltake... any advice? I like the bottom PSU design of the antecs but how many 3.5" bays do they think I need?

Already have a 22" 1680x1050 native LCD, now wish my KVM had DVI...

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006