Multiplier Limits on Mobo

smoothcoco

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2008
Hello all, I have recently purchased the Asus M2A-VM coupled with the AMD X2 5000+BE . Im trying to build a mid-range PC that is OC'able.
I havent finished building it, sitll waiting on parts.
In the Manual for the Mobo it says the Bios Multipliers go no higher than 9X.
I am wondering if I need to get a better mobo to OC using 12X and up multipliers...or are there Bios updates to d/l or OCing utilities.
I am new to OCing and I have done my research and searched for info on this but I cant find an answer.

My curiosity is this, standard 200mhz X9 = 1.8ghz which doesnt make any sense if the 5000 BE is @ 2.6 ghz

For example an ideal OC on the 5000+ BE is ~3.2 ghz, using a 9X multiplier you would need 355 mhz CC which is too high correct?

Thanks to anyone who can answer or lead me in the right direction, I appreciate all help!

Here is my build
ASUS M2A-VM
AMD X2 5000+ BE
Xigmatek 1283 cpu HS/cooler
2X2gb mushkin ram
Corsair 750w PSU
ATI Radeon 4850

Of the reviews I have seen, the board supports up to a multiplier 13. I would say that is right, as most any modern board would support multipliers higher than 9.
Supposed to be a decent, entry level board that will work well with modest overclocks. I have never seen a motherboard manual that was completely accurate or listed all the settings in a BIOS. The manual could simply be not current or not include all the specs.
Although, if I was going to be overclocking, this board certainly would not be my first choice. I am not sure why you would pick an entry level workstation board with on-board graphics for the setup your are planning on building......?

smoothcoco

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2008