Sign in with
Your question

Need suggestions on water cooling

Last response: in Overclocking
August 11, 2008 1:58:55 AM

Hello, liquid cooling is becoming more and more convincing for me as I like to upgrade my graphics card in a matter of 6 months. As we all know it, all the aftermarket air cooling solutions are starting to get to a point where the amount of dbA they output is becoming unbarable and so I'm looking into this type of solution.

I'm a noob to the world of watercooling and so I hope you experts can help me out on deciding what are good parts to buy and how I can maximize the money that I've got.

I'm looking for an extremely quiet cooling solution that's good for overclocking.

My components don't get exceedingly hot but do I believe the Gfx card will become the hottest component in the case.

I want to know approximate the budget that I will need to spend. Please do keep in mind that I live in Ontario (Canada) so I will need to get it/order from the stores available to me. I want to avoid customs as much as possible and I can only pay via paypal if I order online.

My Budget is approximately 450 CAD (tax, shipping......included). Please advise me on what parts I should use and how I can maximize this amount. If it needs to go overy by 10-20 bucks I think I'm ok for that. Thanks for your time.

My Components:
CPU: E7200 Intel C2D (775 LGA socket)
VGA: 8800GT nvidia (I'm waiting for the December 2008 offering from nvidia so not to worry about VGA waterblocks for now).
a c 108 K Overclocking
August 11, 2008 2:36:28 AM

Short answer: Dont bother.

Liquid used to cool a vga card or cpu must eventually be cooled. That usually takes some fans, and the attendant noise. (Zalman reserator might be an exception)

Air coolers are very good these days. For vga cooling read this article from spcr: http://www.silentpcreview.com/article793-page1.html
August 11, 2008 2:55:44 AM