Sign in with
Your question

Graphics help

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 4, 2008 4:51:56 PM

Hey, before I start, please bear with me. I've got little to no technical knowledge of how computers work, and it's a bit frustrating.

In any case, I'm interested in playing games on a new computer. The general purpose for buying it wasn't intended for games, so the computer wasn't all that expensive and seems basic. But for what it's worth, I'd be interested in playing on it if at all possible (and by that, I mean with fairly recent titles and not my age old, Age of Empires games :na: )

My problem is, I'm not sure what kind of games I'm expecting I'll be able to get out of it, or what I should need to or what I could upgrade to "better it".

I'm not really spec savvy, but what I do know is that it's a Vista HP, Intel Dual [Core?] 1.60 GHZ. From what I'm reading it has a 2038 MB RAM, with a intergrated Intel graphics card (256mb) (which I can already guess wouldn't be up to scratch). Now I've never done any computer hardware, so I'm not really sure what much of it means, or if buying hardware to upgrade the computer is really worth it for more "modern" games to work.

Basically, can somebody help me out with advice? The jump from XP to Vista is confusing enough already, and my lack of knowledge isn't helping. :kaola: 

Thanks in advance,

More about : graphics

a c 130 U Graphics card
February 4, 2008 7:23:52 PM

What would probably be best is if you give us the make and model number of th ecomputer and where you got it (just incase there is any model differance between suppliers).
Then we can look up th efull system specifications and go from there.
Mactronix :) 
February 4, 2008 10:44:20 PM

Thanks

Is this what you're after?

Manufacturer: Compaq-Presario
System Model: SR5228UK
Related resources
February 5, 2008 12:04:07 AM

Acording to your spec you have :
PCI Express x16 One (One available slot)
I recommend you to go at least with mainstrem cards: