Contemplating an overclock on new system - advice please

Jon87

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2008
Hello guys.

I am expecting the delivery of my computer tomorrow, below are the specs (hopefully a nice mid-range system):

- Q6600 processor (2.4Ghz, 8MB L2 cache, 1066MHz)
- nForce 750i SLi motherboard
- 8Gb DDR2 800MHz RAM (32 bit OS which can only support less than 4 Gb but the additional 4 Gb came free)
- GeForce 9800GTX GPU
- 550W PSU

my questions are these: (I am a newbie to overclocking but have read a number of guides and think I understand the basic principles)

1. Is the above system conducive to overclocking? (I have heard the Q6600 can be overclocked to between 2.7GHz and 3.4GHz in most air-cooled cases).
2. Will overclocking the CPU and RAM significantly improve performance in gaming applications? (or is the GPU far more important)
3. If I have never tried BIOS overclocking before but if I am very careful changing key variables such as voltage inputs can I be certain that the computer will not be damaged?

note that the computer will be operated in a 20C room with only internal fans for air cooling.

Any other advice would greatly be appreciated, many thanks for your time.

billin30

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2008
I have the same processor and I dont really see any huge benefits of overclocking at the moment. Most games are not built for quads yet, so your cpu is already fine. You got a decent video card which should run most everything just fine at the moment. Invest in some SLI later and you will be set for even longer. Make sure you have an aftermarket cooler if you are overclocking. The xigmatek rifle with retention bracket is suggested all over these forums.