New to forum, New system build! Help needed! Cheers!

Nickolie

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2008
I've been slowly bulind up a system over the past few months because im a student and have limited budget. I've spent just over 1k on this new system including monitor, new tower and peripherals.

But what i need are opinions on the inside stuff! lol, so comments will be greatly appreciated. The only thing i dont have yet is the RAM and GPU because im undecided.

The specs are as folows:

Asus P5K3 Delux
Q6600 Intel w/Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro CPU Cooler
Now...this is where im stuck...

RAM im looking at either
OCZ 2GB DDR3 PC3-10666C6 1333MHz ReaperX (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-106-OC&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=923)

OR

OCZ 2GB DDR3 PC3-10666C7 1333MHz Platinum
(http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-092-OC&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=923)

Im not fussed about the price difference i just want the best RAM

and now with the new ATI 3870X2 card im wondering if it would be worth getting 2 x HIS ATI Radeon HD 3870 XT ICEQ3 512MB or one HIS ATI Radeon HD 3870 X2 1024MB GDDR3

Help would be greatly appreciated and comments about the system would be welcome.

Cheers.

PS Im new to this forum aswell! :hello:

Nickolie

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2008
PS sorry for double post but sorry about the crappy post with crap spelling/grammer/punctuality etc...as a student i am also very hungover today! :lol:

Lanessar

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2007
If you've got the space for the reaper, I'd go for that. Make sure you have clearance in your case for the heatsink thing on the top. But it's pretty well-reviewed memory and I'd have gone with it if I was not doing an SFF case myself. Actually, I had space for it - I skipped because I was skittish on clearance.