jimmy328

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2008
Has anyone overclocked a Gigabyte P35-DQ6? If so, I would like to copy your settings if you have a similar Proc and Mem.

I’m very new to overclocking and not sure how to approach this. I’ve read and printed the “How To” thread in this forum for quads and dual procs and although it’s geared for newbies, I’m not clear of how to start. Also, my MB manual only gives me an idea of what each of the BIOS settings does in the MB Intelligent Tweaker.

What I’ve done thus far is bumped up the bus speed for the default of 333, then to 335, 337, and 340. So far, my system is stable. There’s an option called “System Voltage Control” which is set to “auto”, so I think this increases as needed. The Multiplier is set to 8 in the BIOS. When I run CPU-Z, it generally runs at 6 when the system isn’t working that hard. I have “Core Temp” and “Real Temp” installed and they show a core temp of about 35 C to 40 C.

Any suggestions of what I should do better overclock?

Thanks,
Jim

Proc = Core 2 Duo E6750 with Liquid Cooling System
MB = Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6
Mem = Corsair, CM2X1024, 2 GB
H D= 2 SATA Barracuda 320 GB & WD 320 GB
Video = GeForce 8600 GT
Case/PSU = Smilodon Case w/500 Watt PSU
OS = Windows XP SP 3

cd14

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2006

I've run an E6400, E8400 and Q6600 on my P35-DQ6. I've had the FSB above 500 mhz.

I've hit 3.68 on the E6400; 4.18 on the E8400 and 3.42 on the Q6600 (B3) all on water. Temps and voltage on the hot side perhaps. I'm sure the motherboard has a little more, just haven't tried faster ram yet. Maybe when I get a E8600 I can see how far the board will go.

You've probably got a lot more headroom with your processor. My Corsair XMS2's PC6400 have gotten about 1000 or so on 2.0v.

cd14

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2006