pantheman

Distinguished
Dec 22, 2007
Guys, I really need your help. This is my first build. (my husband thinks I’m crazy to do a build, but I’m so close) Putting it together was fun and exciting but now I’m stuck and have no idea what to do next. I can’t get the XP SP2 to load up. It shuts it self off. I think the problem may lies with the HDD drive set up.

What I have is 5 sata drives
2/ Seagate 250gb one is for the OS boot drive and the other for Adobe premiere and Photoshop cache and temp files.
2/ Hitachi 320GB for a Raid 0+1 configure
1/ Samsung SH-S203N writer

There are 6 sata ports on the ASUS P5B which are supported by the Intel ICH8R chip and can be configured by the Intel ICH8 32 bit RAID. There is one more sata port associated with the JMicron JMB36X 32bit RAID/AHCI. I have downloaded all the latest drivers and I’m using the 1226 Bios for the P5B deluxe.

So, first I need to know:
1. What is the best configuration for plugging in the Sata drives into the MOBO sata ports? I have the Samsung DVD plugged into Sata port 1 and two 250 drives into 2 and 3. Hitachis port 4 and 5, all on the ICH8R chip.

2. What should I set in the bios? I tried setting the HDD's in the Bios> Main>configuration> raid (3 choice here IDE, raid or AHCI) and loading the 32bit .EXE Intel drivers through a floppy drive at the window setup F6 then S, but it returned saying the file txtsetup.oem could not be found.

I would really appreciate your help and suggestions.
Desprate wife in OR.

My build:
ASUS P5B deluxe (used)
E6600 CPU with Zalman 9500 heatsink
Crucial PC2 6400 CL4 EPP DDR2 Unbuff (new)
Radeon X1900XTX (used)
PC Power&Cooling silencer 750W (new)
Microsoft XP Pro SP2 OEM (new)
Samsung SH-S203N DVD writer (new)
2 seagate 250GB (new)
2 Hitachi 320GB (new)