Sign in with
Your question

Will upgrading my hard drive make windows start up faster?

Last response: in Storage
February 16, 2009 1:45:19 AM

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to TomsHardware.....I have some questions regarding hard drives and would greatly appreciate your help.....

Will upgrading my hard drive:

HITACHI Deskstar T7K250 HDT722525DLAT80 (0A31611) 250GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA133 Hard Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

make Windows XPSP2 start faster? It currently takes 2-3 minutes for it to completely boot up. Some games are also slow to load.

I have this motherboard:
ASRock 775Dual-VSTA LGA 775 VIA PT880 PRO ATX Intel Motherboard

The motherboard supports the following set-up for hard drives:
PATA 2 x ATA100 4 Dev. Max
SATA 1.5 Gb/s 2
SATA RAID 0/1

I plan on upgrading the motherboard and computer in the future but I would like to upgrade my hard drive first if it will speed up boot time and loading games, etc. The reason is because I am on a budget and built my current set-up only 2 years ago; it feels like a waste to have to spend more money on a whole new system already.

If there is a hard drive that would significantly decrease boot/load time and would transfer to the next new motherboard, how do I do the transfer from my current hard drive without upsetting Windows XP?

Also, is it possible to lower the SATA 3.0 to SATA 1.5 to work with this motherboard and then set it back to 3.0 on the new motherboard? How much am I losing speedwise with only 1.5 vs. 3.0?

I have 2GB of DDRII 667 RAM, a 3.75 clocked Pentium 4(buying an x6800 soon) If you need more info let me know.

Thanks for the help!

Josh

February 16, 2009 2:28:22 AM