Sign in with
Your question

E8500 help lease

Last response: in Overclocking
August 15, 2008 10:50:47 AM

hi all :hello: 

i am new to overclocking and of course have hit my first problem.......

i have read many forums trying to overcome the problem but have still not succeded so here goes....

i am trying to overclock my E8500 core2duo and here are my specs...

gigabyte x48-ds5 rev.1 F7 bios
Core2duo E8500 3.16 g
Vandetta 2 cpu cooler
EZCool 1050w psu
2x 1g Buffalo 800 ddr2 (dual channel) 5-5-5-18 pc6400
2x gigabyte ati hd4870 crossfire

now, i started in the bios by setting the fsb to 400mhz and bringing down multiplyer to 8 to get 3.4gig, i set the spd to stay at 800mhz which of course in return gave me a 1:1 ratio, i rebooted and got to desktop only to hang 2 mins later so i did a bit of reading and read somewhere to set the cpu skew at 50ps which i tried and still it hangs at desktop, i have checked temps constantly and core temps never go above 50.c
am i right in saying i need to start playing with voltages ?? this is what worries me and is why i am now asking for help before i end up blowing my cpu sky high :kaola: 

More about : e8500 lease

August 15, 2008 12:34:40 PM

Well, risk is part of the game when it comes to overclocking. If you're not willing to take the risk, you should not be doing it.

What programs do you have for testing?
August 15, 2008 12:55:13 PM

Don't use auto voltages. Find the recommended voltages at this timings for your memory and adjust RAM voltage (probably around 2.1 volts). Also set your vcore voltage equal to your VID since it's a small overclock. You may need to increase vcore voltage for higher overclock but never go over 1.36v. Set pci-e slot speed at 100 mhz and performance enhancment to standard (if it's not set to standard you will have a warning in the bios).
Related resources
August 15, 2008 1:29:25 PM