Last response: in Overclocking
August 15, 2008 5:10:32 PM

I am getting ready to buy a h20 cooling setup for my rig. specs are as follows:
EVGA 780i MB
Q6600 will be @ 3.0Ghz (for now)
GTX 260 stock clocks
4 GB Hyper X mem 1066
Thermaltake Armor chassis

I will be watercooling the processor for sure, and eventually the GPU.

I am considering the Thermaltake Bigwater 780 AIO cooling system, and the Swiftech H220 Compact kit. I am leaning more towards the Bigwater because it just tucks in a few drive bays.

What other system should I look at?

I would like to avoid piecing it together myself as this is my first attempt at liquid cooling. Thanks

Comments concerns and ideas please.
August 15, 2008 5:27:58 PM

I woun't even speak to the quality as I've never seen nor used the Bigwater kits. What I can say is that I doubt very serioulsy a single fan radiator tucked into a drive bay could dissipate enough heat to make it much better (if at all) than a good and cheaper air solution.

I'm not a fan of the Swiftech compact kits unless you are space limited in your case - which the Armor is not.

The Swiftech H20-220 is a good introductory kit that you could build on. Also, Petra's Tech Shops has "kits" it's put together form individual parts if you're afraid you'll over look something.

http://www.petrastechshop.com/wacoki.html

I believe there are experienced Water coolers here who will gladly walk you thorugh the process, so don't feel you have to go it alone.

What is you budget?
a c 325 K Overclocking
August 15, 2008 6:17:22 PM

Bigwater kits are seriously flawed by their poor pumps. Their 'high flow 350 L/hr' pump doesn't perform nearly as well as the Liang/Swiftech branded MCP655 (1200 L/hr) plus you have a small radiator to cool a single CPU...nothing else and not even that CPU that well.
Related resources
August 15, 2008 7:18:59 PM