building a pc - please help!

poldie2

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2008
I'm an occasional PC builder. This'll be my third in 10 years. I'm considering getting:

gigabyte ga-g33m-ds2r
2x2gb gigs of Crucial ram (667 or 800, not decided)
intel e6550 or e8200 with stock cooler
wd raptor hd via sata

I'm not planning to overclock, but I'm after the best `bang for the buck`. I'm going to be doing .net development/running sql server, plus the odd bit of surfing, emailling, playing music/video etc. I already have a monitor, mouse, keyboard, usb modem. So if anyone can help me out, I'd be very grateful. I'm interested especially in answers to the following:

1) The e8200 seems to be perpetually `out soon`. Will it be out soon?
2) Assuming I go for the e6550, is there any problem running it on this board, in terms of bios versions/multipliers etc? Can I run it at 2.33ghz?
3) What about ram? I've read about some limitations on ram speed configuration in the bios. Assuming I'm running the CPU at 2.33ghz, is there any point in getting the 800mhz ram, or would I have to configure it to run slower than that anyway so I might as well get the 667?
4) I want the fast HD drive because I've heard good things about it, and .net development seems to benefit from it. I'd use usb for mass storage (ie i have some old ide drives around which I've connect externally) although I might use the IDE for one large internal ide drive.
5) What sort of power PSU would I require for the above system. I'd probably never use any of the slots and power anything internally other than the 1 or 2 drives I just mentioned.

I'm in the UK, and it seems I can build the above system for around £450. Have I missed anything? Any better alternatives? I don't want to spend too much more money, but as this PC will be my main PC for the next 3-4 years I don't want to cut any corners.

Cheers.

agentsmith957

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2006