Tags:
  • Gigabyte
  • Windows XP
  • Intel
  • Hard Drives
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
March 16, 2008 2:01:56 PM

Im new to intel parts so maybe this is a dumb question.
I was installing xp pro on all new parts and it blue screened in xp setup many times until I turned off the advances sata features of the ICH9 AHCI and "native mode". Now that xp is installed should I now turn on the advanced features? GA-P35-D3SL and hdd is a new seagate 7200.11 500g.

More about : p35 d3sl wont install ahci turned

March 16, 2008 3:09:51 PM

Hey I am an "extreme " newbie also,I had a ton of trouble getting my new build going too but I finally did thanks to reading these forums. My board was an Asus P5B and it would not support AHCI in XP ,only Vista I think.Hope this helps..
March 16, 2008 4:10:30 PM

well In order to use AHCI with windows xp you need to get the sata controller drivers and load them before the installation begins. I think if you hit F6 as the xp setup start you should be good to go. In the case of vista which supports AHCI controller natively you don't need those. So if you want to use AHCI you need to do a fresh install and load the drivers at the start of the xp installation. I hope this helps
Related resources
March 17, 2008 1:01:28 PM

Can the drivers be installed in windows or does it really require a new install? Is the difference in performance worth doing a whole new install?
March 17, 2008 1:50:06 PM

im using the same board. n no. im not using ACHI. n my system turns just fine.

n as meww said. u need to install the drivers before installing windows if u enable AHCI or RAID
a b V Motherboard
March 17, 2008 2:19:08 PM

Enabling AHCI in a system BIOS will cause a 0x7B Blue Screen of Death STOP error (INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE) on installations of Windows XP where AHCI/RAID drivers for that system's chipset are not installed. Switching to AHCI mode requires installing new drivers before changing the BIOS settings.