Inexpensive / NOT CHEAP! with room to grow?????

coryburgess

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2007
I am trying to build a system for my borther and my sister that will work well for everyday use
They really don't do any gaming, but want to manage their media (mostly music & pics)
and surf the internet, along with some basic office tools, word, excel etc.

This is my first time building, but i have been research and reading.

We plan to run VIsta Ultimate- b/c we got it free from microsoft, so I want a MoBo that can do 8G if needed
Plus for the Video Card I like that it is HDCP so there won't be any issues if we add a bluray or HD drive later.

Networking is important and i'm sure they will do some games once they have a decent PC,
plus their media is likely to include video with the price of video camera where its at.

Here's what I got, it seems pretty good, but please, i am a novice's apprentice.
This is all new to me. Please help and suggest,

DVD drvie: Sony NEC Optiarc 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model AD-7191S - OEM $29.99

Case & Power: RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black SECC STEEL ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 500W Power Supply - $92.99 - $40 (mib) = $52.99 (seems like good price for decent case and psu)

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
$69.99

Video : BIOSTAR V8402GL26 GeForce 8400GS 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready Video Card - Retail $38.99

RAM: Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
$104.99 - $35.00 Mail-in Rebate = $69.99

MoBo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor Intel Motherboard - Retail $89.99

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 Allendale 2.2GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80557E4500 - Retail $124.99

Subtotal: $551.93 - $75 in rebates = $476.93

What do you think? Does this satisfy the average user needs, plus leave room for growth?