Onboard RAID or Add-in Card?

takenra

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2009
Hello,

I'm kinda new to RAID but to building a computer. Assuming a basic budget am I better to stick with onboard RAID on the motherboard or use an add-in card (Eg PCI-E RAID card) if I want to have two drives as RAID 0 (for system OS and two as RAID1 (for data, docs, images etc.). Any and all advice welcome.

Thanks

Arthur Dent

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2009

Hi.
Im setting up 2 x 300gb velociraptor (raid 0) & 4 x WD 1tb black (raid 10).i also want to put xp,vista 32 & vista 64 multiboot on the raid 0 velociraptors.

After days of searching the internet i did get some real nuggets of advice which i would be happy to pass on.

Give a lot of thought before attaching a raid to your motherboard because if you upgrade your motherboard in the future you almost certainly will lose the contents of the raid(s). this is usually an intel chipset issue and it plainly says raids cannot be relocated if the chipset changes. Unless of course you buy an entire set of duplicate drives, format them as basic/ntfs and use those backup onto. (i have been there and its not a happy place...also too expensive for most people including myself).

Dont assume the onboard raid will still work if you install a seperate raid card. often they do work, but, if they dont then its 'either or' decision time.
My scenario is worse than yours i suspect because i already have 2 installed esata raid cards attached to 16 x 1tb HDDs, but im not using the motherboard raid yet so will probably have to install a 3rd raid controller (bootable) to handle the 6 drives in my tower.

I would advise attaching all the drives to the raid card if possible as that will avoid any compatibility issues AND mean you can relocated all the drives if you need to.

Im going to be starting mine this month (march) so if you care to share your experiences i would be happy to share mine.

Incorporat3d

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2009