Two computers with one modem from comcast

sgt8689

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2008
I too have the same problem as many of your members. I have comcast as my ISP, two computers, one modem and a router. All of my connections are correct but when I try to load the software on to my second computer it recognizes my NIC but states that it cannot connect. Do I need a seperate IP address? Where would I find the IP address and it also asks for my MAC. Where would I find this. I am not very good with computers. I used to be an A+ Tech but it's been many years and things have changed so much. I need to pick a better than mine for this one.
Thank you very much in advance.
sgt8689

SizroSpunkmire

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2008
To determine our NICS IP address and MAC address:

start --> run type in: 'cmd'

at the command prompt type in: 'ipconfig /all'

This will display all the settings for each NIC (wired/wifi) presently enabled in your system.

sgt8689

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2008
Thank you for your response. Is there another name for the MAC address? I did what you said and it came up with my configuration but it does not have a MAC address. Would it be "subnet mask"? It also states that IP routing is not enabled.
Thanks again.
sgt8689

SizroSpunkmire

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2008
In ipconfig /all your MAC address is the entry listed after 'Physical Address'

Physical Address. . . . . . . . .: 00-20-B6-6H-0V-D5

^^ example

sgt8689

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2008