Sign in with
Your question

BFG 8800GT OC x2

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 17, 2008 2:52:53 AM

Hi all,
today i bought my second BFG 8800GT OC and of course i wanted to test the new power. I have to say that i don't see such an improvement and i'm a little confused because i'm new to SLI.

Gigabyte N650SLI-DS4L
Q6600 quadcore overclocked to 2700/900 without voltage changes
4GB Corsair RAM
2xBGF 8800GT OC in SLI
620W Corsair PSU
Nvidia 169.25 graphic drivers
Windows Vista Home Premium 64

Crysis is running 1440x900 without AA with peaks of 40fps all medium, it's not strange? Should not be more?
Unreal Tournament 3 is running 62fps with one card and something like 18fps with SLI.
3DMark06 is running 30fps peak in SLI, with one card it was 71.
FSX Service Pack 2 is running like before, maybe a little better but nothing special.

One question, why i don't have SLI Antialiasing??? There is not in my AA setup...
Another question, which is the main difference between Single-GPU, force split, force alternate 1 and force alternate 2?
Nvidia SLI is so crap? Unreal is not supporting it??? Crysis is using such a small amount of power from SLI?

I'm a little confused you know, i was expecting 40fps stable in complex scenes in crysis and the truth is that Crysis goes from 25fps to 40 constantly ON MEDIUM!!!

Maybe i did something wrong? There are special setups?

More about : bfg 8800gt

February 17, 2008 3:24:05 AM

Could be the 650i board it has only 8x lanes.
February 17, 2008 3:55:07 AM

Hi,
if it's like that can you suggest me a good motherboard?

I get the same result in 3dmark06 with single gpu and alternate frame rendering!!! It's like if it's not using the second card!

If i setup frame splitting 3dmark06 is giving a bad error: the first half is rendering good and the second half is rendering really badly and i have 2FPS!!!
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
February 17, 2008 3:55:20 AM