Sign in with
Your question

Best Processor for Gaming ??

Last response: in Overclocking
August 30, 2008 8:23:06 PM

Hey Guys ,

Im kinda new to this so i need help plz .

I have recently bough an XFX Nvidia Nforce 790i Ultra Mobo .. My question is , What is the best processor to go buy
a Q9450 , a Q6700 or a Q6600 especially for Gaming and Future Proof regardless of the Price . Note that i wont be using Watercooling here .

Other Specs :

4GB DDR3 1333 mhz
Nvidia Geforce 8800GTX Graphic Card
Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme -- CPU Cooler

More about : processor gaming

August 30, 2008 8:26:59 PM

get the Q9550 will be the best in your case.in the future everything will get multithreaded into quad and beyond since Nehalem will get max 8 threads:o 

i know there are people who will come in later and say E8500.let see.......
August 30, 2008 8:36:17 PM

I would have thought an E8600 would be the best for pure gaming. ...but I'd want some sort of quad core since its likely that you'll do some multi-tasking and want strong performance for upcoming mult-threaded games and apps over the next couple of years.
Related resources
August 30, 2008 8:43:57 PM

^ there you go first one in the E8xxx series!lol

but that processor is good though!for now anyway.
a b à CPUs
August 30, 2008 9:05:18 PM

The Q9550 since it's only $10 more than the Q9450.
August 30, 2008 10:14:06 PM

^ +1 ...if I were buying a processor today the Q9550 or Q9650 would probably be the candidates and the Q9550 is the wiser choice between the two, IMO.

...overkill for gaming but all-around goodness and great longevity.
August 31, 2008 12:56:55 AM

+1 Q9550
If it was just for gaming I would reccomend the E8500 because of it's high clockspeed/ E8600 has a too large premium for 136mhz at the moment.

But for longevity the Quad will serve you better in the long term.
August 31, 2008 1:06:35 AM