Sign in with
Your question

New build keeps crashing - PLEASE HELP

Last response: in Systems
February 11, 2008 9:43:48 PM

I just built a new rig with the specs I'll list below. It's the first PC I've ever built so i 'm an absolute noob.

E8400
Gigabyte 3850 512mb
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Antec Sonata III
Earthwatts 500w PSU
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB
A-DATA (2 x 1GB) 240 pin DDR2 800 (PC2-6400)
Samsung DVDRW
Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit

The first time I booted up it worked fine I changed a few ninor things in the BIOS but didn't OC or change any voltages. Vista installed without a problem too. I installed the drivers for the 3850, mobo, and monitor also without a hitch. I was then looking around at the different programs Vista comes with, this is the first time I ever used it, when I came across the rating system. Everything looked fin getting about a 4.7/4.8 on everything except the gaming graphics and it said "newhardware detected refresh score" so I start to redo the scoring and as it beginds to test the media player it crashes. I deleted my graphics card drivers and reinstalled them and got the same results.

I then decided the score meant nothing and went to play the NWN2 game that came with the 3850 and it crashed again right after I finished makig my character. It then proceeded to continuously crash in the BIOS. I finaly got it to stop and my mobo said my E8400 was running at 90 degrees celsius.

I suspect either bad RAM or something with the PSU.

thanks for any help.

Oh by the way I watched a movie and listened to a few CDs in the Media center so thats working fine. I don't know if any of this helps, I'm just trying to be specific.

More about : build crashing

February 11, 2008 9:52:42 PM

Temperature is a major issues, get the corrected asap, reseat the heatsink and make sure it's staying cool.