Media Pc / TV tuner card

MrMeth

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2007
Hey guys

I have a media pc that consist of Asus M2A-VM , Athlon X2 3800+, ATI 800XL 256, 2 gigs of Kingston value ram 667mhz , Seagate 320 Gig 16Mb ST3320620AS , DVD burner and floppy , all in an antech 1040b case with a 500watt smart power antec PSU. My satelite provider is Bell express vu ,( I think its the Canadian equivalent to Dish network ) I currently dont have an HD reciever but plan on getting one soon ( already have HD TV ) I’m looking for an add in card that will let me play my divx on my TVs with the proper outputs to my amp for sound and will let me record from my bell express vu 3100 rec , I have been looking at tons of cards and even though I’m a tech junkie i have never really had much need for info on tv tuner / add in cards cause i always had an allinwonder in all of my other media pcs!! I miss those cards :( My budget is around 200-250 Canadian , I have been looking at some cards from HAUPPAUGE but don’t know what card would fit my needs I need some answers and i know you guys know your stuff so here i am plz help !! And thanks in advance !!

MrMeth

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2007
Cmon know one has any suggestions ? I guess to get a response i should have said something fanboyish like amd will eventually crush intel ? lol !! Guys i need some help !!

TwiZtiD_3

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2008
I currently have a media center pc using the Hauppauge 1600. I put it together from leftover parts that were lying around from years of upgrades.

Specs are:
Amd athlon 1800+
1 gb pc3200 ram
Vista Utltimate (for the media center part)
radeon 9600 128mb
7.1 chan sound card with SP/DIF (i think its a chaintech or similar... but actually sounds better than my X-Fi) -

* soundcard spdif out to Harmon Kardon receiver
* DVI to Hdmi out to TV