Recording PC - newbie first build

atljogger

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2008
I'm a newbie seeking to build my first PC. This is mainly for music recording. Other than that, I'd only use for basic web-surfing and business-related matters (MS Office). I'm not interested in gaming. I've always wanted to build a PC and partly I want to see if I can actually do it? My goal here is a quality desktop that is as cheap as possible (I'd love to do it all for under $500, no monitor); I may buy Used components off EBAY to keep cost down. I use a MOTU firewire recording interface and Cubase as my software.

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale $220 - it may not be possible to stay under $500 with this processor but I definitely want to build my system around the E8400. I would like to find savings in other components
Operating System: XP Pro. A lot of music interfaces have problems with Vista so I will go with what works.
Memory: I think 2 gigs would be fine with XP. 3gb if its a good deal
Video: I don't care about gaming capability. I am fine with a average-below average video card.
Motherboard: This is an area I know little about. I need firewire with the Texas Instrument chipset. Perhaps I should be a dedicated FW card instead.
Hard Drive: Seagate 320gb, 7200RPM seems popular. I have an external HD so I don't need anything amazing as long as it has adequate storage, 7200RM, etc
Case: Whatever works. Doesn't matter what it looks like as long as it gets the job done
Cooling Fan: Probably something more on the quiet side since I will be recording
PSU: 400 watt maybe? Does the E8400 processor require me to have a larger power supply?

Sorry for the beginner questions - feel free to berate me for my newbie-ness.

Thanks,
J

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006