Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Question about pentium 4 @ 2 different speeds & socket number.!!!

Last response: in CPUs
March 7, 2008 5:21:20 PM

Hey guys, im brand new here, and I know this is probably an easy and/or dumb question but its got me wondering.
My boss recently gave me a computer to have at home.
Its a DELL Dimension 4700 ( I know I know, but I got it for free, I cant complain)
The system properties say:
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 2.50GB of RAM
Video card: XFX GeForce 7950gt 512 DDR3 PCI-E

Now, why is my Pentium 4 showing 2 cpus, is it a dual core? is it 2 processors in one? and what socket is it?
Im asking these questions because I want to know if at some point, I can take the harware out and put this stuff in a nicer case, and I would also like to liquid cool the processor. So i need to know what socket it is, so i can see if the plates will fit it and/or if its even possible! Im new to this liquid cooling stuff and at some point I want to be able to liquid cool my processor and GPU. But i dont even knwo where to start. Do they have systems that hook up together and do both?? Thanks for all your help guys!!
-Josh
March 7, 2008 5:27:46 PM

2 cpus = HT enabled. 2.8 Ghz = P4 520. All Dimension 4700s are socket 775.
Related resources
March 7, 2008 7:15:36 PM

Thank you very much! Do you think its possible to transfer the motherboard and all the hardware to another case?
March 7, 2008 10:45:06 PM