guitarguy84

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2008
I curently have Windows XP and I want to upgrade to Vista, and also at the same time run a RAID 1 setup between my drives. I have one single 320gb drive in my pc and just today I bought a second one, which is yet to be installed. I want to backup all of my important files onto one of the drives if possible. My question is, would setting up the RAID 1 array format both drives?
I have never used RAID before so anyone who has can help out alot

Siggy19

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009
RAID 1 means disk mirroring. In other words, everything written to one disk is written to the other at the same time. They are treated like a single disk. Not only would it be pointless to backup one onto the other, it is not possible without unRAIDing the disks.

The benefit of RAID 1 is that one disk failing will not lose you any data. However, it is also possible for the house to burn down or the computer to be stolen, so it is sensible to have some sort of off-site backup available. This can be done using one of the online backup services which will automatically back the data up to the net whenever your PC is running.

RAID 1 is slightly faster than a single disk to read the data, but can be a little slower writing it (since it must be written in two places). RAID 1 also only provides half of the disk space of the two drives since there are two copies of everything.

The most common alternative to RAID 1 is RAID 0, which is also called 'striping'. This effectively spreads the data across both disks and so is usually noticeably faster than a single disk (the data can be in two places and so is not slowed down as much by the speed of each disk). It also provides the full capacity of the two disks. However, if either disk fails, all of the data can be lost.

ShadowFlash

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2009