get another 8800GTX ANS3 for SLI or get new CPU & mobo?

Ok, this will open up 1001 opinions but it would be good to hear from those that have tried and proven both options.

I have the current setup of the following hardware:

Gigabyte Mobo GA M55SLI-S4 rev 2
AMD 6000+ X2 CPU
4G SLI OCZ memory
triple boot OS (Vista Ultimate, Win XP 64 & Media Center 2005)
NEC 19" Opticlear Multisync 90GX2 Monitor

I am thinking about getting a second video card to go SLI. I know my monitor doesnt really warrant it for the moment but that will likely change soon.

Im an avid builder and know my way around most hardware components this level and down.

The bottom line to the reason for my post is simple. Do you have a good idea as to the best path to upgrade to either SLI video cards or get the following:

Intel Q6600 CPU (199.99 at a local Microcenter)
EVGA 780 SLI Mobo (250.00)
and use my current single video card

The cost is a lateral expense either way. The thing is I have my system configured just the way I want it now. I have a triple boot OS, I obtained Windows XP 64 simply by resinstalling the Demo and going straight to Microsofts website and getting all of the updates. It has been nearly 4 months and Im not locked out yet!

With the video card solution I acomplish an upgrade by simply installing the card and use this current system for a few more months and upgrade to whatever falls into my price range at a later date.

I know it would be more powerful to go the CPU route but it will be a lot of work but I will do it if most everyone here knows this is a much better solution.

My other concern is my video card is hard to find and I am basically having to get a used one to go SLI. I am using the EVGA 8800 GTX ANS3 card. I am thinking if I wait it may be harder or impossible to get one. On the other hand I may want to sell my current 8 series card and get a 9 series card if they release one proven noteworthy to do so.

Any feedback is appreciated! :sol:

cah027

Distinguished