Little help? Upgraded to P4 on an ASUS P4S800D but it wont boot!

dr0ct0pus

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2008
Hi all,

This is my first post so I'm a complete noob and I'm hoping someone can help me out with a little problem I'm having. I've upgraded my processor on my ASUS P4S800D from a 3.06Ghz Celeron to the P4 3Ghz L1 20kb L2 1MB 800MHz bus.

I put the new chip in (and I've had 2 -this has happened with both of them) turn on the system and I get nothing. No beeps, no BIOS screen, nada! I pop the Celeron back and it all fires up as normal.

I'm thinking I may need a BIOS update but (and you'll like this) I've got no floppy drive. I really dont want to start messing around with the BIOS from a bootable CD-R unless I'm sure its the cause of the problems, hence I've turned to you lovely people for some help.

What do you think? Thanks in advance :hello:

Wolfshadw

Titan
Well... I can't be certain of this, but it looks like the processor you have is the P4-3E (3GHz). It's the only 1MB L2 Cache processor I could find on Asus' site (scroll all the way to the bottom).

You'll note that it is only supported by PCB 1.03 and BIOS 1010. I'd check to make sure you have a motherboard that supports your processor. Here's where to look

-Wolf sends

Edit: Sorry. The link to Asus' web site doesn't work properly. From the dropdown, select Motherboard. Then select Socket 478. Then select your motherboard's model number (P4S800D) to get to the Compatible CPU listing.

dr0ct0pus

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2008
Thanks for your thoughts, people. Much appreciated. I think I'm just going to invest in a new mobo - I need an upgrade and I'd quite like to get something with decent HT support and PCI-Express rather than the AGP I've got now on the P4S800D.

Any recommendations for the P4 3.Ghz 800MHz Bus 20kL1/1MB L2?

Also, can anyone clarify, if I buy a new board, will I have to reinstall Windows?

Thanks again.

turtle1

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2006