Sign in with
Your question

New Build For First Timer, Troubles with PSU also.

Last response: in Systems
February 19, 2008 3:02:19 AM

HD - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200KSRTL 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Retail
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor Intel Motherboard - Retail
Graphics Card - DIAMOND Viper 3870PE4512SB Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR4 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail
PSU - Antec NeoPower 550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply - Retail
CD DRIVE - SAMSUNG 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model SH-S203N - OEM
RAM - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model BL2KIT12864AA804 - Retail
CASE - Antec 900

Hi, guys I'm new to the forums and have been browsing quite a lot. I'm a first time builder and tried it out, but ran into some problems.

I purchased all the parts from New Egg already and they all seem to work and they are all assembled. However I encountered a problem with my PSU. When I plugged it in to power my computer, all the LED's in my case turned on and flickered as did the fans. They would run for 2 seconds then stop, I quickly unplugged it and tried again and it will no longer work.

My PSU didn't sound fried or didn't have any suspicious smells it just doesn't work!

Is my PSU defective? Is there anything I can do to fix it, if it is not? And is my build quality and decent?
February 19, 2008 3:11:45 AM

Is any part of the motherboard shorting against the case? Are all the standoffs securely screwed in?
February 19, 2008 3:32:16 AM

I don't believe that the MOBO is shorting against the case. There are these gold plated things that I screwed them into which are about 1/8 of an inch from the case. I just tried again taking everything out and putting it back in and still doesn't work. What are the stand offs?
Related resources
February 19, 2008 9:22:21 AM