C@rtman

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2008
Good evening all, I could really do with some expert opinions on whether I am about to blow my PC up or not. As you can probably tell already I am completely new to the overclocking game and all the abbreviations and technical bios names have finally gotten the better of me. Rather than trying to explain what I have done, I have attached 2 pictures of my first attempt at an overclock on a EVGA 750i and Q6600. The ram is at default and am just trying to concentrate on a stable clock before I go there, although I have already had to take 2x1024 dimms out in order to boot.

Is the anything glaringly obvious that I have done wrong or need to change, I am not trying to break records just to achieve a good stable overclock if possible around 3.2Ghz?. Is it also possible to re-enable SPEEDSTEP with my current settings or am I asking for trouble.
The temps look ok to me, I believe the "88 oc" motherboard reading is duff as Everest did not recognise my MB.
I truly appreciate any advice or help you can give,
Regards

2866082211_db27b26b68.jpg

2866913678_17bac48dd4.jpg

Granite3

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2006
Firstly. the Nvidia boards have a stock ram voltage at 1.8. Bump that to 2.05 right off.

Next, unlink the ram/fsb. This allows you to take the ram out of the equation, up to a point, and concentrate on the cpu.

The Northbridge voltage needs to go to at least 1.4ish, while leaving the cpu voltage on auto.

This should be good to at least 3.0. To get 3.2 is going to require a little more voltage for the cpu, unless you have a great binned piece of silicone.
Up the cpu voltage to go along with your increasing fsb, till you hit your mark. Verify stability with Orthos or Prime 95.

You can reenable the speedstep after you reach your overclock goals.

sciggy

Distinguished
Apr 15, 2008
Another big thing to make sure you do is to lock the PCIE frequency to 100mhz. If you don't, it can overclock and cause severe instability right off the bat.