OS Questions for new build?

ajsellaroli

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2007
Hi, I'm just finishing a build I've been buying parts for for a couple months now. It's going to be an image/video editing rig. Now, here's what I wanted to pick your brains about this time: Which Operating System should I buy? There are alot of choices. There are different versions of xp, and different versions of vista. Should I go with xp or vista, for that matter? And finally, where is the best place to buy this software (i'm trying to save money).

The direction I'm leaning is Windows XP home, because it seems cheap, and is (supposedly) faster than vista. If you agree with this, I still need to hear where you would buy this from, so if you have any ideas, please speak up! Newegg has home (retail version) for $100, which seems expensive. OEM is $90, which brings up another question I have - Which should I buy, OEM or Retail?

I know i'm throwing alot at you at once, but you guys are smart, I think you can handle it :D
Thanks alot,
AJ

antonwalker

Distinguished
May 6, 2007
I say screw Vista. I have it and hate it.

You should just have gotten a mac :D

But yeah umm I say xp Home or if you have 4gb of RAM u should get 64bit xp professional.

I bought everything from Newegg because they are amazing. www.Newegg.com

OEM means you cant install it on that one PC and if you change your motherboard or something big you wont be able to reinstall. $10 isnt a lot I would just go retail. Kudos on not being a pirate and just stealing this stuff though :D