Sign in with
Your question

Dell Dimension 4500 CPU P4 upgrade from 1.8ghz to 2.8ghz not booting.

Last response: in CPUs
March 17, 2008 6:23:49 PM

I know there are tons of forum threads all over the place for trying to upgrade Dell Dimension CPU's, but this one is unique, I have found nothing on this as of 3/17/2008.

I'm trying to upgrade my Dell Dimension 4500 CPU.
I have about 10 yrs of experience building PC's, I've built about 60-something machines since Dos 6.0/Win 3.1, all the way up to Win XP sp2, for myself/friends etc, nothing super professional though.... and started getting lazy though about 2 yrs ago, so I may be missing something obvious :) 

I have a Dell Dimension 4500 Pentium 4 machine.
The only thing that has been upgraded since purchase is the RAM and Video Card.

Here are the current specs on it; everything works fine with this hardware:

Original Motherboard for Dell Dimension 4500.
1.5GB RAM (tested on several machines, perfect, no issues)
Pentium 4 CPU: SL62P, 1.8ghz, 533mhz bus, 512 cache, socket 478
Radeon 9800 AGP 256mb video card
80GB Western Digital IDE HD
DVD drive
CDRW drive

All the above components work perfectly.

***** So... *****

I read in Dell Dimension's specs for this PC, that the motherboard does indeed support a 2.8ghz P4 processor.

So I found a CPU on ebay, for $30.00 (since Dell wanted to charge $169) Pentium 4 CPU model SL7E2. It is a P4 2.8ghz, 533mhz bus/1M cache, socket 478.
It says it was a refurbished Intel CPU

At first, when I got the CPU in the mail (very well packaged), all I did was open the PC case, take off the heatsink/fan cover, replace the CPU, put the heatsink/fan/cover back on, and turn on the PC.

The PC powers up, the power light on the case is on, all fans are on, and I notice the CDRW drive's light is solid from the get-go, no blinking.

I get nothing else. No video signal at ALL. (monitor light is red as if on standby).