Lifesavings down the drain.

atotti2000

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2008
Hi All,

First of all, pardon my spelling, as I've been working on this problem for a while now.
After saving for a year or so (stuff like rent kept popping up) I've just bought myself a new pc:

Intel Core 2 Quad
Asus 780i Mobo
2Gb OCz Ram.
XFX 8800 GT
SATAII HDDs
SATA DVDRW
Coolermaster Sli PSU

I have the most peculiar problem.
When I look on the Bios it shows my new SATAII 500Gb hard drive all fine, then afterwards, flashes up with 'no harddrive detected'

However, it then lets me onto the windows install, but has the wrong HDD details before you install nd freezes during an install.

I do have a SATA DVD drive which might cause some trouble.
I've built 10 - 20 pc's before so im not a total novice but this is my first total SATA Boot/Build, and I couldnt find any troubleshooters or advice on what the problem actually was. Personally I think it might be a faulty mobo, though i hope not.

Any help would be grateful.

Regards.
Ant

atotti2000

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2008
I only plugged one in, just to install OS.

I've also tried combinations of using:
SATA HDD, SATA DVD
SATA HDD, IDE DVD
IDE HDD, SATA DVD
And IDE both,

to no avail.

roadrunner197069

Splendid
Sep 3, 2007
Make sure you are plugged into the right sata port. Check your manual.
Swap Sata Cables.
Did you plug power in as well?
Make sure its set to IDE in bios and not "SATA, ACHI, or RAID."

atotti2000

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2008
Ive decided to stick with trying the SATA HDD (as its a brand new samsung spinpoint which i've only ever seen positive feedback for) and my (older) IDE DVDRW which I know definately works.
RAID is Disabled, read through manual like 5 times and its all like it should be.

Boot is from CDROM as im trying to install from CD,