Sign in with
Your question

4x9800GX2: will it overheat?

Last response: in Components
March 20, 2008 5:17:15 PM

I work as a Computer Scientist at an academic image processing department. In my research, I regularly work with nvidia Cuda (http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_home.html) for high performance computing on the graphics card (GPGPU). These are general computations that have nothing to do with rendering 3D scenes. For GPGPU, SLI is not required. Therefore, it seems possible to me to put four 9800GX2 cards on a single motherboard, for example the MSI K9A2 Platinum V2 (http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=proddesc&prod_no=1395&maincat_no=1) that has four (physical) PCI-Express X16 slots with double spacing between the slots.

So far, I have tried to figure out if there will be any obvious problems with driver support. Since SLI will not be used, it seems that it can be done (see this thread http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/249450-15-four-9800gx2-cards-work and this one http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=62618 for more info.

Anyway, let's assume for now that it will work on the software side. So far, I am thinking of the following case and PSU:

case: Lian-Li Armorsuit PC-P80 (http://lian-li.com/v2/en/product/product06.php?pr_index=131&cl_index=1&sc_index=25&ss_index=61).
This is the only big tower case I could find that has more than 7 expansion slots. Using four 9800GX2 cards means that at least 8 slots are required. Any suggestions for alternatives?

PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1500W (http://www.thermaltake.com/product/Power/ToughPower/w0171/w0171.asp).
This is the only PSU I could find that has four PCI-Express x8 connectors and four PCI-Express x6 connectors, which should be enough to power the four cards.

I have no intention of overclocking (it seems like enough heat already) :)