Q6600 Core 2 Quad Overclock

bluejamesbond

Distinguished
Sep 23, 2008
I am trying to overclock
a Q6600 G0 to 3.0 ghz

I have only overclocked it to 2.5 ghz but the temperature rises when in auto voltage.
I want to put it up to 3.0 Ghz, and what is the recommended voltage(s).

I have a cooler master sphere fan 2400 rpm and 2 other fan with one fan blowing air into the intake area of the cooler master.

I think the cooling is sufficient.

I have 680 Watt psu.

Forgot my mobo is a GYgabyte P35-S3G

I ran the cpu at 2.5 and auto voltage which is 1.30000V on my motherboard.

DO I NEED TO DO ANYTHING WITH THE FSB VOLTAGE INCREASE?

WHAT SHOULD I DO WITH MY RAM?

I have a 800mhz Kingston DDR2 2GB Ram

I appreciate all your help

thank you

email any replies to bluejamesbond@gmail.com or just post a reply.

thank you

jay_l_a

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2008
OK, first thing, turn OFF auto voltage.
Second. Read the O/C guide.

Then find out what voltage your proc needs:

http://processorfinder.intel.com/

Start at the low end of the voltage range at stock speed. Run Prime 95.

Get your machine stable at stock.

1:1 ratio on your RAM so this doesn't become a problem (yes, you'll be underclocking it.)

Then start increasing speed. Check temps, run prime, rinse, repeat.

See how far you get.

kyeana

Distinguished
May 21, 2008
1.3 vcore isn't bad at all. You might have to increase it some more to get to 3.0 but nothing to worry about. You shouldn't have to do anything with your ram if you keep the ratio on 1:1.

To get your Q6600 to 3.0 you can set your FSB to 333 and your multiplier to x9 = 3.0 GHz. That will also make your ram run at 667 MHz (333 * 2), which it can handle as its rated at 800 MHz.

kyeana

Distinguished
May 21, 2008
i wasn't done posting yet....accidently hit post now...lame.