liquid cooling for 8800 gt sli and phenom 9850

fantom-feltpen

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2008
i am a complete newbie when it comes to liquid cooling.... im just looking for suggestions or recommendations.

im looking to liquid cool my 8800gt's in sli and my OC phenom 9850 black edition.

i am looking for a modest price ($120-$160) liquid cooling system... i am willing to buy extra blocks if needed, i just need recommendations of even where to start..

anything is appreciated =D

orangegator

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2007

If that is your price range, then forget about it. I am no expert, but I'm pretty sure it'll cost at least $300-$400 to do that. And if you try to cheap out with water cooling, you'll be disappointed with the results. Cheap parts typically result in poor water cooling.

Superhal

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2008
are you having an overheating problem? you might want to address those first, as it could be something easy to fix like voltage settings or case airflow.

as an intro to water cooling, i would recommend the coolit Pure ($125.) it's a hybrid-peltier, which means it uses thermoelectric cooling and can get below room temperatures. it's a one-piece system.

but, except for that, don't get any water cooler less than $200. the next 1 piece water cooling system that does outperform the top air coolers is the Zalman Reservator XT at $275.

overvolting is a common phenomenon with phenom chips especially with gigabyte or asus mobos. here's a guide to fix that:
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=11&threadid=98342&enterthread=y

if you want to check air hsf, here's a buyer's guide:
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=11&threadid=100223&enterthread=y

sli is notoriously hard to cool. most people usually give up and buy a gtx2x0 or hd 48x0. one big problem is that aftermarket gpu coolers won't fit on one or the other card in sli.

rubix_1011

Contributing Writer