Overclocking noob...

CoolGamer48

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2008
Hey. I just built my first system, and I just have some OC questions:

1. I got an Intel E8500 advertised at 3.16GHz. But when I check the clock speed with cpuz or other software like that, the clock speed varies from around 2.0 to 2.3 GHz. The bus speed is pretty constant at around 333MHz, but the multiplier thing (as I said, I'm a noob) switches from 6x to 7x. Does this mean my cpu is underclocked? A friend of mine said that the cpu may not use its full power when it doesn't feel it needs it. Would that be the case? If so, how can I check the max that my cpu will go to?

2. If I do want to overclock, what exactly should I do? From minimal research, I think that the two ways to overclock a cpu is to either change the bus speed or change the multiplier thing? Does it matter which one I change to achieve my result? Is one safer than the other?

3. What's a good temperature for the CPU? Right now it's running at around 17-18 C. How far should I let it go before I stop trying to overclock?

A4x4Junky

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2008
There is a setting in BIOS called SpeedStep that will lower the multiplyer when the system is at idle. When you stress the system it should go to the full speed. My understanding was that this is for power savings.

As for overclocking, I recommend reading http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/240001-29-howto-overclock-quads-duals-guide first. I read it .. a few times now. I was confused as this was my first time overclocking, but between this guide, my motherboard manual (love asus descriptions of BIOS settings), and internet searches for explanations of things I still didnt understand I now have a system that is seemingly stable at some pretty nice speeds.

Good luck,

Anthony

RyanS2000

Distinguished
May 23, 2008

You are better off reading an entire article to get a full understanding. I will give a brief answer to questions though.