Rampage Formula & Q9450 @

halcyon

Splendid
I just got a Rampage Formula + Q9450 to replace a Striker Extreme + E6850 that I have OC'd to 3.5Ghz. While I wanted to upgrade to a quad core I don't want to lose too much performance on single threaded apps.

So, I'm looking for opinions on whether or not I should be able to get the Q9450 up to say ~3.3Ghz (1680FSB) on the Rampage Formula with STOCK CPU and NB voltages. I guess the NB shouldn't need any help since the X48 does 1600 natively, but I thought I'd check with some of you overclocking geniuses (or is genii?) to see if you think kicking the Q9450 to 3.3Ghz on stock is:

1) Likely possible?

2) If possible, damaging to the processor?

I'll be using a Xigmatek S1283 for cooling (unless I decide to get an OCZ Vendetta 2).

While that 640Mhz OC is probably mild in some of your books I don't want to damage my new $300+ chip and I don't want to increase voltages and raise temps. ...because I'm an overclocking Noob.

I've got DDR2 800 RAM (4x2GB) that I can clock independently so I'll keep it at around 840Mhz.

I know overclocks are individual trial and error but, again, I appreciate your opinions...you've taught me a lot already, much appreciated.

sailer

Splendid
1. yes, its possible

2. Shouldn't damage anything