Personal/HTPC Hybrid

topher219

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2007
I want to use my personal computer to watch movies and listen to music through a premium sound system, I am currently building a new pc so I havent bought anything as of yet.
Im kinda new to this whole thing of not just buying a computer speaker set ready in box, but actually getting a reciever and speakers to make my own stereo system. Im looking at the Onkyo TX-SR705 Reciever and speakers that Ive yet to decide on. Ive been trying to figure out how to hook up the reciever to my PC. Not sure how to do it. Do I use my video card and hook it up that way or do I go through my SoundCard. Just so you know Ill be getting the 8800gts(g92)512 and looking at the Creative 7.1 Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Champion.

Any info and advice you have would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

albundy2

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2006
if your receiver has a digital audio input [coaxial or optical] and your mobo has a digital out, thats all you need. you wont need the sound card if your mobo has digital out. there's nothing a sound card will do to improve the quality.

groo

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2008
not that I've found anything wrong with onboard sound myself, but...
I cant imagine a discrete sound card wouldn't help sound quality, even with digital out.
I have heard that sound cards come in 2 flavors, those geared toward gaming, and those geared toward sound reproduction quality. I'm guessing anything by that fatal1ty dweeb is geared for gaming.

you might want to wait for the 9 series nVidias as they will draw less power, and should therefor need less/quieter cooling. don't forget to take into acount PSU noise (thats the noisiest part of my current system).