Sign in with
Your question

DANGIT! I just bought Vista!!!

Last response: in Systems
February 25, 2008 9:50:24 PM

UPDATE: Ok, I know I'm an indecisive MORON but I just cancelled the order..........Which would you go with? I can't decide. I'm a photographer, and I only want to use this computer for photography things

JEEZ its been forever since I've been this apprehensive about anything! I am terrified that I made the wrong decision with Vista. I just barely bought it..... I've got a really slow P4 now with 512 gb ram, running XP, but since I am making a new build (e2180 proc, ds3l mobo, radeon 3870 gfx, 2gb ram) I thought I'd go with vista, mostly because the SP1 is coming out soon.......

TELL ME ONE THING PLEEAASE: Will my new computer run vista faster than my old computer ran XP?? I want to see a definite improvement in speed..especially for things like photoshop responsiveness

More about : dangit bought vista

February 25, 2008 9:59:57 PM

Your new machine will run vistaids faster, obviously not as fast as XP though.
February 25, 2008 10:23:14 PM

ajsellaroli I agree with:

n00b_SLicer
Your new machine will run vistaids faster, obviously not as fast as XP though

also make sure your ram will work ok with the gigabyte ds3l mobo . and ps get a good one it does matter.lol
Related resources
February 26, 2008 12:17:39 AM

UPDATE: lol..I just cancelled the order (that's newegg for you). I need more time to decide

Seriously, though, I can't decide. Which would you go with?
a b B Homebuilt system
February 26, 2008 12:24:43 AM

Getting a new system, not a hardcore gamer, go ahead with Vista and never look back-you won't be sorry.
a b B Homebuilt system
February 26, 2008 12:25:29 AM

I would go with XP x64. Then again I am kind of bias towards XP since I know that my stuff will work with it. ;) 
Also Vista support is going to get better by the time SP2 comes out. SP1 already increased the compatibility, performance, etc a little.

This might help:
rwpritchett said: